One at a time

One at a timeIn a world that moves in fast forward, multi-tasking is required if you want to get anything done.  Or is it?  Do you find yourself so scattered that you can’t keep your schedule straight?  Things overlap so much that it gets hard to distinguish one from another.  When my life gets that crazy, I find that it bleeds into my sense of well-being.  I start to feel like something is always undone.  I get stressed out and can’t figure out what is causing it.

When that happens, I stop everything, look at everything and assess what needs to stay.  Then I purposely do only one thing at a time for a while.  That focus leads me to feel more unified and settled.  Counter intuitively, it tends to up my productivity.  When I work on one thing at a time, I can put all of my energy into it and do a great job.  The feeling of doing a great job is both settling and rewarding.

Do you have a few minutes today to sort out what is mental clutter and what needs doing?  I’d argue that you can’t afford not to do it.  Try facing your tasks one at a time and see how it goes.  I would love to hear about your experiment.

Photo by:  Crismatos//Busy*OFF/ON.

About Brandon Simpson

Teacher & Curioso
This entry was posted in Little Disruptions and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

