Conflicted Minimalist?

Every day I am bombarded with advertising.  It tickles the trained consumer in me to buy the newer, bigger, faster, better, something-er product when I have a completely serviceable item already at home.  The fight for minimalism is a daily wrangling of my heart into submission to contentment and gratitude for what I have been given.  Some days I am pretty annoyed with the fact that I can’t seem to just settle into minimalism without temptation to own more or better or more expensive things.

In the midst of all that, I am very thankful for the inner fight.

I am grateful for the people who have written a lot about paring down your things and inspired me down the path, most notably Dave Bruno (www.guynameddave.com) and Leo Babauta (www.zenhabits.com).  I’m thankful for the tension that has developed.  I have to be intentional about what I have and where it goes.  I have to be just as intentional to not have certain things, like a television in my house or a car payment.

Making conscious decisions about possessions that I have had and need to part with or that I have not had and do not need to acquire has been a healthy exercise for me.  I hope this is an encouragement to you.  In order to work towards minimalism, you need not have it all figured out.  Simply begin to evaluate the line between needs and wants honestly, and begin paring down from there.

(I hope you are enjoying minimalist mondays! Feel free to add your thoughts in the comments section below or by email to largethoughtcollider at gmail dot com.)

About Brandon Simpson

Teacher & Curioso
This entry was posted in Minimalism and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Conflicted Minimalist?

  1. A says:

    Brilliant post! Love minimalist mondays.

Leave a Reply

