Unexpected Consequences

If you are like me, you probably structure your life to become invulnerable.  We armor up before facing the day to protect our fragile bits.  We build walls that distance us from emotional attachment to things and as a result cushion us from criticism.

I hold back the real me in favor of a more acceptable or predictable me.  While that does lend itself to maintaining social order (imagine a world where everyone is open about everything with everyone) it also lends itself to anomie and a creeping withdrawal from meaningful relationships.

One of the results of starting this blog is realizing how vulnerable I am.  The walls don’t do much good to protect my ego when I venture outside of them.  One of my dreams is to create something that helps a lot of people to find their niche.  I hope this blog will be the start of lots of fulfilled dreams.

Because this is so important to me, every post is an emotional roller coaster.  Will my thoughts be well received?  Are they helpful?  Does anyone care one way or the other?  By escaping the walls of my emotional fortress, I am choosing to make myself really vulnerable.  In the end, I think that’s best.  Imagine if all the people who have inspired you in the past chose to hide instead of engaging the world where they live.

Work really, really hard.  Create something awesome.  Break out of your fortress and put it on display.  Sure, some people will criticize and others will completely ignore you.  But to those you help, all the naysayers in the world won’t matter.

(Thanks for following along!  What kinds of things are you working on now?  Feel free to leave your comments or suggestions below.)

About Brandon Simpson

Teacher & Curioso
This entry was posted in Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Unexpected Consequences

  1. wobsy says:

    Good post: I like your thinking.
    I worry that using WordPress to bare my soul is actually an act of cowardice. The risks here are minimal: if I don’t like the responses, I can pull the plug and never return. But it’s a first step. Who knows: it may lead us both to bigger and bolder things!
    Rob.

  2. A says:

    Love this one. My more emotional friends called me a “defensive pessimist”. I preferred to think I was merely protecting myself from the violently emotional elements of life. It works well to avoid anger, sorrow, and a few other pesky negatives. However, I too found that I was departing a bit too much from “meaningful relationships”. Working on finding a happy medium!
    Thanks for the thoughts!

  3. Brandon Simpson says:

    @ Rob – I think that’s a fantastic counterpoint. Best of luck in getting your novel out!

    @ A – I’m finding that most areas of life are in tension. The aware person does just what you are trying to do, find the reasonable place in the middle.

Leave a Reply

